top of page

Powder, powder and more powder


Enjoying Marmot Basin powder on Monday.

There are these emails I receive from the various ski resorts in Alberta and British Columbia that sometimes leave me wondering: is this intended as a news item for me; is this a gentle jab at me being in the city and the sender enjoying the latest snowfall; or a hint to get myself to the hill ASAP?

Take this one I received yesterday from the friendly folks at Marmot Basin.

Hi John!

Marmot Basin received 24cm of snow in 24 hours. Conditions today were incredible. The deep powder made for an awesome Monday on the mountain. Big smiles were guaranteed as skiers and snowboarders enjoyed fresh tracks under bluebird skies. (Don't worry, there is plenty left for you to enjoy tomorrow).

Ouch! And I’m stuck in the city having to cover the Edmonton Eskimos end-of-season news conference.

However, the real point of that email, and others I received this week, is the mountains are full of snow. Not just snow…POWDER!

On Tuesday Sunshine, Lake Louise and Mt. Norquay all reported between 27 and 37 centimetres of fresh powder in the previous 24 hours and between 35 and 82 cm in the last week. All of which has led to superb opening conditions at all the hills and it just keeps getting better as more runs and lifts open almost every day.

Lake Louise powder on Nov. 20. Photo by Chris Lamothe

There’s an understanding in resort towns that 20 cm of fresh powder means one thing: get out the skis and boards, call in sick to work and hit the slopes. It’s one of the big reasons skiers and snowboarders live in resort towns.

So, while I’m working -- even though I’m retired and just freelancing today’s Eskimos news it is a commitment I can’t bail on – the slopes of Jasper, Norquay, Louise and Sunshine will be full of locals, smiling and laughing through face shots. SIGH.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page